# Teaching A wards Reception



Pqxg o dgt"39."4232

Gnurgvj"Dcwij"Hktgukfg"Tqqo

# **Program**

# Teaching Refection

Ngq"Lqpmgt 4227" Swggpøu"Wpkxgtukv{"Ejckt"kp"Vgcejkpi"cpf"Ngctpkpi

# Welcome and Opening Remarks

Uwucp"Eqng."Fgrwv{"Rtqxquv

# Recognition of Teaching Award Recipients led by the Centre for Teaching and Learning

Ocwjgy "Cuecj
T{ncp"Gicp
Ecvjgtkpg" I wtpug{"
Ectqn{p" J qguungt
Rgpkpc"Nc o
Cpf{"Ngigt
Mckvnkp" OeFqpcnf
Ucpftc" Owttc{
Fgpkug"Uvqemng{

## Closing Remarks

Fgpkug"Uvqemng{."Cevkpi"Fktgevqt."" Egpvtg"hqt"Vgcejkpi"cpf"Ngctpkpi

# **University-Wide Awards**

### **Christopher Knapper Award of Excellence in Teaching Assistance**

\*Cnoc"Ocvgt"Uqekgv{+

2009/2010 Jon Gaboury, English

Eric Keske, Chemistry

Frank Knox Award \*Cnoc"Ocvgt"Uqekgv{+

2009/2010 Bill Newstead, Chemistry

Grahame Renyk, Drama

Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching \*Cnw o pk"Chhcktu+

2010 David Strong, Applied Sciences

Chancellor A. Charles Baillie Teaching Award "\*Egpvtg" hqt" Vgcej kpi "cpf"

Ngctpkpi+

2010 Mark Weisberg, Law

Society of Graduate and Professional Students Teaching Assistant/ Teaching Fellow Excellence Award \*Uqekgv{"qh" I tcfwcvg"cpf"Rtqhguukqpcn"

Uvwfgpvu+

2009/2010 Usman Mushtaq, Civil Engineering

Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision \*Uejqqn"qh" Itcfwcvg"Uvwfkgu"cpf"Tgugctej+

# 2009-10Teaching Award Winners

# **Faculty of Applied Science**

 $\textbf{Applied Science First Year Teaching and Learning Award} \ ^*Crrnkgf" \textit{Uekgpeg+} \\$ 

Fall 2009 Bill Newstead, Chemistry Winter 2010 Somi Narayanan, Physics

Civil Engineering Teaching Assistant Award \*Ekxkn"Gpikpggtkpi+

Fall 2009 Doug Tomlinson Winter 2010 Mark Nelson

Civil Engineering Teaching Award \*Ekxkn"Gp i kpggtkp i +

2009/2010 Andy Take, Civil Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering Teaching Award \*Gngevtkecn"cpf"

Eqorwvgt"Gpikpggtkpi+

2009/2010 2nd year Ahmad Afsahi

3rd year Tom Dean 4th year Al Freundorfer

**Teacher Assistant Award** \*Gngevtkecn"cpf"Eqorwvgt"Gpikpggtkpi+

2009/2010 2nd year Jonathan Green

3rd year Fei Chen 4th year Ali Moallem

**Educational Excellence Teaching Assistant Award** \*\*Gp i kpggtkp i \*\*Uqekgv{+

2009/2010 Sean Abraham, Mathematics and Engineering

Golden Apple Award "\*Gpikpggtkpi"Uqekgv{+

2009/2010 Joshua Pearce, Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Golden Pillar Award"\*Gp i kpgg tkp i "Uqekgv{+

2009/2010 Brian Frank, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Silver Wrench"\*Ogejcpkecn"Gpikpggtkpi"Enwd+

2009/2010 Not awarded this year

**Bronze Wrench**"\*Ogejcpkecn"Gpikpggtkpi"Enwd+

2009/2010 Not awarded this year

# **Faculty of Arts and Science**

# 2009-10Teaching Award Winners

Excellence in Teaching Assistance"\*Uejqqn"qh"Eqorwvkpi+

2009/2010 Ian Bentley

**Howard Staveley Teaching Award** \**Uejqqn*"*qh*"*Eq o rwvkp i* +

2009/2010 Dave Dove

Honourable Mention: James Cordy Honourable Mention: Doug Wightman

Department of Drama's Faculty Award of Excellence \*\*Ftcoc+

2009/2010 Tim Fort

School of Environmental Studies Student's Choice Professor of the Year

**Award**"\*Uejqqn"qh"Gpxktqpogpvcn"Uvwfkgu"Fgrctvogpv"Uvwfgpv"Eqwpekn+

2009/2010 Ryan Danby

School of Environmental Studies Student's Choice Teaching Assistant

 $\mathbf{Award}"^* \textit{Uejqqn}" \textit{qh}" \textit{Gpxktqpogpvcn}" \textit{Uvwfkgu}" \textit{Fgrctvogpv}" \textit{Uvwfgpv}" \textit{Eqwpekn+}$ 

2009/2010 Kris Hart

Geography DSC Award for Excellence in Teaching Assistance"\* I gqitcrj {+

2009/2010 Melanie Bedore

Julian Szeicz Award for Excellence in Teaching"\* I gaitcri{+

2009/2010 Laura Cameron

Neal Scott

W. A. Gorman Teaching Assistant Award"\* I gqnq i kecn"Uekgpegu"cpf"

I gana i kecn"Gp i kpggtkp i +

Fall 2009 Chris Yakymchuk Winter 2010 Geoff Reith

Health Studies DSC Excellence in Teaching Award for Health Courses

(School of Kinesiology and Health Studies)

2009/2010 Elaine Power

Physical and Health Education Student Association (PHESA) '88 Teaching

Award"\*Uejqqn"qh"Mkpgukqnqi{"cpf" Jgcnvj"Uvwfkgu+

2009/10 Theory: Brendon Gurd

Activities: Bill Sparrow

Phase 2A Rene Allard, Anesthesiology

Henry Averns, Rheumatology

A. Cheung, Medicine

Linda O'Connor, Family Medicine Louise Rang, Emergency Medicine Peggy Robertson, Family Medicine

Phase 2B Paul Dungey, Emergency Medicine

Roy Ilan, Internal Medicine Waitak Kong, Medicine Diane Lu, Medicine

Michael O'Connor, Emergency Medicine

Arawn Therrien, Family Medicine

Phase 2C Peter Ellis, Neurosurgery

B. Farnell, Surgery

Roy Ilan, Internal Medicine Linda O'Connor, Family Medicine Rupa Patel, Family Medicine

Sanjay Ramachandran, Family Medicine

Gavin Shanks, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Stephen Steele, Urology

E-Ward"\*Uejqqn"qh"Ogfkekpg+

2010 Derek Tsang, Medicine

Dmitry Tsvetkov, Medicine

H.F. Pross Educational Technology

"\*Uejqqn"qh"Ogfkekpg+



# 2009-10Teaching Award Winners

Phase IIA Musculoskeletal (MSK) Course Award \*Fgrctvogpv"qh"Uwtigt{+

2009/2010 Not awarded this year

**Phase III Teaching Award** \*Fgrctvogpv"qh"Uwtigt{+

2009/2010 Paul Belliveau, General Surgery

Sean Haslam, General Surgery Resident Peter Hugh MacDonald, General Surgery

Conrad Watters, Surgery

Resident Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching \*Fgrctvogpv"qh"

 $Uwtigt\{+$ 

2010 Sean Haslam, General Surgery Resident

# ~ School of Nursing ~

## Nursing '84 Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

2009/2010 Jane Tyerman

## **Reddick Award for Excellence in Nursing Education**

2009/2010 Yr. I Lewis Tomalty, Microbiology and Immunology

Yr. II Marian Luctker-Flude, School of Nursing Yr. III Laurie Gedcke- Kerr, School of Nursing

Yr. IV Melissa Raby, School of Nursing

# ~ School of Rehabilitation Therapy ~

#### Blue Star Award for Teaching Excellence

2010 Megan Edgelow Elizabeth Sled

# **Faculty of Law**

Law Students' Society Career Achievement Award

2009 David Stratas

Law Students' Society (Sessional) Special Lecturer Award

Winter 2009 James Vigmond Fall 2009 Dhaman Kissoon

Law Students' Society Teaching Excellence Award

Winter 2009 imV M Dhaman Cpecdasi i