Senate Research ReportSupplement September 252018



Research News

The Arthur B. McDonald Canadian Astroparticle Physics Research Institute launched on May 10, 2018. It is a partnership of eight universities and five affiliated research organizations. Headquartered at Queen's, the institute came to fruition as a result of the \$63.7 million

Dr. Ahmed Hassan (School of Computing) was honored with NSERC's 2018 E.W.R Steacie Memorial Fellowship. He is only the 10 th Queen's faculty member to receive this prestigious honour since the award's creation in 1965.

Three faculty members have been appointed Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Engineering:

- Dr. Amir Fam (Civil Engineering)
- Dr. Richard Holt (Emeritus, Mechanical and Materials Engineering)
- Dr. Yan-Fei Liu (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Dr. Bill Plaxton (Biology) received the Canadian Society of Plant Biologists' Medal Award at the joint meeting of Canadian and American Societies of Plant Biologists in recognition of his exceptional research.

The Canadian Academy of Health Science (CAHS) has recognizes two Queen's University researchers for their global leadership, academic performance and scientific creativity:

- Robert Ross (School of Kinesiology and Health Studies)
- Michael Green (Health Sciences)